Document Legalization & Attestation

Documents destined for countries who are NOT members of the Hague Apostille Convention may require legalization and attestation.

All Secretary of State offices, including the Secretary of the District of Columbia, and the US Department of State in DC will attach a Certification to the original documents if the destination country is NOT a member.  Member countries receive an Apostille.

The following countries are NOT members of the Hague Apostille Convention:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Congo Republic, Congo Democratic, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenia, Kuwait, Laos, Labanon, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Paraguay, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzia, Togo, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkenistan, UAE, Uganda, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

For example, Kuwait is not a member of the Hague Apostille convention.  If you need a document to be authenticated for that country, you will first need to have the document authenticated by the State of California, The US Department of State in Washington, DC, then the Kuwait Consul in Los Angeles for legalization.  This multi-step is a requirement.

Some countries are less stringent.  For example, Brazil is also a country who is NOT a member of the Hague Apostille Convention.  Documents destined for this country do not require US Department of State Authentication prior to legalization at the Brazilian Consul in Los Angeles.

We can help expedite the process of authenticating and legalization your documents.  We have an office in Los Angeles and in Washington, DC.   We can also process documents from all 50 US States including the US Department of State in Washington, DC.